backround

Friday, July 30, 2010

Normal?




Okay, so L-I-F-E has been on my mind; when isn't it? And the question that keeps coming to my mind is what is normal? Seriously? Let me in if you know.
For some, 'normal' is waking up at the crack of dawn and going to work. Only seeing your family a few hours during the week because your so 'goll darn tired.' Then resting on the weekend and doing it all over again...only to find 20 years have gone by and half your kids are out of the house.
Others it's a stay at home dad taking care of the kids because he is laid off; and mom is stuck coming home late at night only to kiss her babies good night.
Then there's the normal where some couples don't even see each other accept at night, and your just trying to relax and have that 5 min convo before you have to start the next day all over again.
My 'normal' is the typical stay at home mom with an Army twist. Our normal is thankful to have Jake home for dinner-and not counting down 11 months till another deployment is done. Skypeing with our in-laws and my family just to see their face and so Isabelle can know who Papa and Grandma are. Trying to figure out when we are going to take our next trip back to WI and in all that mess how we are going to see everyone all in 2 weeks!(Don't get me started on that one...EXHAUSTING to the MaX) Having to help plan a best friends wedding long distance, or hearing how sick grandpa is getting and all you can do is call or send a card...Sometimes though, I take too much for granted. I am married to a man who would do anything for Isabelle and I. Not in a 'relationship' with, or dating, but married; till death do us part. Wowzaa, sometimes that feels like an eternity. But a year, week, day, that Jake is gone feels like an eternity; because he's my husband. The one person that makes me feel like me. That no matter how forgetful I am, or how bad an argument, he still can tell me he loves me! Then there's Isabelle. Blessed; that's what comes to mind when I think of our daughter. She is so full of personality and sweet innocence. Now I know how my mom felt when she had me, taking me for walks and pointing out all the ants, flowers, and butterflies. The look she gives me when I show her and explain things to her, her amazement and awe for life. When I make her laugh and it comes from her gut. That's what it's all about-And it's that moment that I am thankful and remember that I am lucky to have that as 'normal.' I personally don't know how I would handle being a working mom.I mean don't get me a wrong;a part time job for during the holidays for that extra spending money would be nice;but I just can't see a full time job-not while I have such a young child. I would rather be dirt poor, but still taking care of my kids at home. I know it doesn't seem like much and a bit extreme, but to me just being 'there' is everything. That's my job. My dad worked a lot, and we didn't get to see him a lot at times...but my mom was always there! Always there to make breakfast, lunch, and dinner. She was always waiting at the bus stop for us kids...That's what I want my normal to be. When dad was there, he made sure to play with us and tickle us till we were crying!
I am not downing any working moms; because for a lot of women it's what makes their 'normal' and them happy. Or for some they don't have a choice; some have to work to make ends meet...
Any who, normal...what will my normal be in 2 years?
Will we be back in Wisconsin? Trying to figure out our Christmas scheduale? Who's side of the family on Christmas day/eve, will I host a Thanksgiving dinner? Play dates with our friends and their kids; well more like what flavor on wine will the ladies be drinking and what beer to boil the brats in? While the guys are 4 wheeling or fishing. Or will Jake be deployed...will he have signed on for a few more years?
Will Isabelle have another brother or sister? Who knows...all I know right now is that I am thankful for my 'normal life.' For the friends that I have now, who listen when I need them too, and tell me their stories and woes. For my mom who I can call and talk to whenever and for how long I want to (unless of course mommy duties come to call :))That my husband is home every night for dinner, and to read our daughter a bed time story. For God (which this is my #1 on the list) who continuously watches over us, and keeps us healthy, happy, and loved.
Whatever your normal is...I hope it makes you happy!

P.S. I had to throw in a pic of my stir fry from last week...DOUBLE SNAP! It was off the 'hook' LADIES! I tossed the meat in hot sauce(the Asian kind),brown sugar,dash of spicy mustard,garlic powder and soy sauce. Browned my rice and threw in minced onion. Then cooked it. Sauteed green and yellow peppers with onion in olive oil and sea salt. Then scrambled 2 eggs. Put it all together and Bon a Petit! Is that you spell it? mmmm.....

Thursday, July 22, 2010

.....






Here are some picture frames I have been crafting for family members here and there.The bottom two are my favorite. I love the color's...

Oh and of course a pic of the floral printed diapers.

AND...Isa Isa Isabelle in my shoes! Yes, it's happening, slowly but surely. She is my daughter!!! Hahahaha

Still waiting on a date night, It may not happen until we go home late next month. Bla bla bla.
Thought on the booty pop 'what happens when you go swimming and your ba-donkey is not so donkey?' Water proof booty pop?!?!

I made omelets for breakfast today-they were extraordinaire; why? Because they had asparagus and queso inside! Isabelle ate 2 pieces of bacon-high five for my non meat eater.

Okay, that's the end of today's randomness. Time for a run.
Let's hope I don't fall off the treadmill. It's a fear I have and think about it every time I go for a run. 'What if I fall this time?' Although if I did, I would have to say it'd probably be very funny.

Monday Funday






Mondays are never great, Monday this week was an exception.Isabelle and I awoke at 6:30 a.m. as usual. Jake had CQ again, so he wasn't coming home from his 24 hour shift till 9ish. Us lady girl's set to making banana bread! DELICISHHH-Isabelle helped me, as you can see :) Mess and all its fun. Jake came home to the house smelling mouthwatering. We all had a slice with butter melted on, oh my mouth is watering just remembering. Things can't get any better, right? WRONG-we closed the shades, pulled the curtains and BAM!!! 10:30 a.m. and we were all in bed, and we didn't wake till 1:30-Oh happy day! We then went down for some fun at the pool, to work on our tans. Needless to say it was a fantastic Monday. Oh and Isabelle finally being in 18 months is wearing an adorable checkered out fit I bought last year. They didn't have her size, so I bought bigger. She looked heavenly :)

Being that Isabelle may be the only girl we have, I gave in to Pamper's over priced girl designed diapers and bought a pack for the hunny girl. 15 smack a roo's for 24 diapers! I had to do it once, they are soo pretty, and even Isabelle get's her 'pretty's' to put on her butt butt, as we say here.

Sunday, July 18, 2010

booty pop, say what?!?!


I asked my soon to be college freshmen sista to send me an email with some things she'd like for her dorm. She sent me the typical 'space savers' oh and this:

How funny! Her words where 'I don't really want this but I seen it on 'Tyra' so I had to show you.' Bahahhahaaa...good one. Really? Shoulder pads for your money maker? Whatever floats your boat girlfriend...My thoughts run into: what about a HOT muggy day? or bending a little to far over and a pad pops out, can you get a wedgie? will one side be higher than the other? will it bunch and give you 'back fat?' It's almost worth buying to try out.

I will end with 'Apple bottom jeans, boots wit the furrr'

Listen to janmommy09s Playlist


Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones

24










Look how happy she is!

Well, my birthday came and went. It was fun! Actually had Jake home and not in another country. AND to top it off, my mother sent my birthday card ON TIME.I received it the day BEFORE my birthday. Let me tell you, my mother is the queen of sending things NOT on time;it's where I get it from :)So when I opened my card, it actually felt like my birthday. It was the one card that made my day. Ahh, the little things :) We had two pool party's, oh snap! It was the bomb-I made a pitcher of citrus vodka with grapefruit, lemons, and oranges. DELICIOUS...however I am not bouncing back like I used too. I had the WORST headache this a.m. Tia, my long lost 'twin' will be 24 on the 25th. So we shared a partay this Sat; 80's themed. I am proud to say she is my partner in crime down here in the 'sunny city' as both enjoy or drinks and cocktails EMENSLY!(sp?)
Oh so I broke down and bought 2 rompers. Surprisingly they look nice on me!I thought for sure my shortness would make me look like a total fruit cake, but not so much.
Isabelle is enjoying the pool to the MaX, she is jumping in and kicking her feet. She jumps in the air and lands on her tummy and turns all around. Ahh yes my little fishy fish. I love her so.
I am making banana bread tomorrow morning and I can't wait to eat it. YUMMY...Jake has CQ; 24 hr duty from 9 a.m to 9 a.m. tomorrow. So I am surprising his nose and tummy with it when he walks in the door.
Oh I have made the decision after much consideration to enjoy wearing my bikini as long as my actions stay modest and pure. Which of course they are. I just can't stand when I get looks from other mom's or grandmother's. I mean give me a break, we are in 2010 not 1960. I mean I am not walking around like some hot tamale, Shakin' my money maker. I mean really ladies, there's not much junk in my trunk to stare at.
Sometimes I just want to stroll up to these 'starer's' and say 'WHATCHA LOOKIN AT?' (with my hand on my hip, tapping my foot. AND...YES I have tattoos! Gasp, stare, holy crap....I mean I don't have some naked woman or profanities tattooed on my body.


Got my hair did! Jake likes me with dark hair, so DARK i went. And I am lov'n it. Kind of a shaggy bob-LOVES it.

Anywhoooooo...enjoy the fab pics.

Friday, July 9, 2010

Thoughts


As of late I can not get a few (a lot of) things off of my mind. Sooo I am putting them down so I can DO something about it? I hope...
1. PLEASE DO SOMETHING WITH YOUR HAIR!!!! --- apt at 9 am tomorrow (OH SNAP)Tear for Lacey, I MISS THEE!
2. Send out our family pic to some of the familia...it's not THAT hard.
3. Find a new memory board for Isabelle's room.
4. Speaking of rooms, get Rachel (sister) a few items for her DORM room. DERRR
5. Date night with Hubby-A.S.A.P
6. How old is too old for a bikini, let me rephrase...How to be modest in bikini, I mean I am only going to be 24 in 4 days-and I have ran my ass off to fit into the 10 I have. So it's still okay, right? I mean I am not acting all sexy-my husband likes it. The fact that I wear a bikini, not the sexy part. Well of course he loves the sexy part but that is another topic. Hmmm
7. Really wanting to get my tattoo done. I actually want 2 of them. Oh snap look out-here come the tattoo'd Gehl's! :)
8. Isabelle is growing up so fast, such a little person. How did my mother do it with 5 of us? She is truly an amazing women. I had such a fun and worry free child hood.Despite the fact that we were so poor. I didn't know it till much later in life. I hope I am giving Isabelle the same. I don't want her to think of me as boring, uptight, always saying 'no or don't touch that.'
9. Maybe that's why I am still wanting to wear my bikini and jump up and down and dance with her-make funny faces in the mirror and let her play with my lip gloss even though I will have to change/wash her out fit immediately afterward.
I want her to have the type of childhood where she remembers laughing with her brother(s) or sister(s)late at night, and her dad is yelling 'if you don't be quiet I am coming in there!!!'
10. I need more NEW recipes to make for dinner. I think I will try homemade pasta-Isabelle's up from her nap. BYE!

Independance Day






Fourth of July was very fun over here in the Sun City. Although we didn't get to see a live firework show we were all together! Jake started his day with a long ride on his bike, what else is new. Of course this ride was a bit different, seeing as it was his first cruise with his loud exhaust on. So Isabelle and I got dressed up in our red, white, and blue attire. My hunny girl had her first braid in! And I am so proud she wore her red flower in her hair all morning. High Five.
I, of course had to sport my red wedges-look out. After driving around for 45 longggg minutes and listening to Isabelle's nursery cd 2x's we finally found our parade! Of course my luck, the parade was ending. BUT-we still got to see a few fun things; and Buzzy Izzy got a lollipop.

Our afternoon was at the pool, and it was fun. Aimee and her 5 busy, busy kids where there to entertain and play with Isabelle. Let the fun begin! I was in 'high spirits' after my 3 vodka and pink lemonades...oh and let me add that I could not stop sipping all because of my festive blue straw! I have pics to prove it.
A little cook out on the grill and some snacks and what a fun day it was :)

Our disappointment came later on that night.
After our 2 hour nap, we parked and waited in a nearby parking lot where the fireworks where to go off!!!!!!!!!!!............the baseball game went a bit late. Needless to say we waited and waited and waited and WAITED; for 2 hours! No fireworks for us. We were home by 10:45 p.m. with no show. We did see some in the distance on our way home. Our hunny girl said 'wooooow.' So all is well that ends well.
Enjoy the pics.